PMB removes Kachikwu as NNPC boss, appoints new board of corporation


    NNPCPresident Muhammadu Buhari on monday approved the composition of the Board of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), as provided for under Section 1(2) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation Act of 1997, as amended.

    Mr. Buhari also removed Ibe Kachikwu as group managing director of the corporation, a statement by presidential spokesperson, Femi Adesina, showed.

    He however allowed him to remain as minister of state for petroleum and will serve as chairman of the new NNPC board.

    The new NNPC GMD is Maikanti Kacalla Baru, according to the presidency.

    The new board is composed of the following:
    A. Chairman-Dr Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu, Honourable Minister of State for Petroleum;
    B. Group Managing Director- Dr Maikanti Kacalla Baru;
    C. The Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Finance; Mahmoud Isa Dutse, and
    D. The following six persons:
    1. Mallam Abba Kyari
    2. Dr Thomas M.A John
    3. Dr Pius O. Akinyelure
    4. Dr Tajuddeen Umar
    5. Mallam Mohammed Lawal, and
    6. Mallam Yusuf Lawal.
    President Buhari urges the new board to ensure the successful delivery of the mandate of the NNPC, ” and serve the nation by upholding the public trust placed on them in managing this critical national asset.”