Buhari appoints 209 board chairmen, Wada Maida returns to NAN



    President Buhari: redeems promise to make board appointments

    By Kate Obande

    President Muhammadu Buhari in a single fell swoop on Friday appointed 209 board chairmen and 1,258 members of presidency owned businesses and parastatals, redeeming part of the pledge he made 31 October on the National Executive Committee assembly of his All Progressives Congress.

    More appointments are on the best way, mentioned Mr. Boss Mustapha, secretary to the Government of the Federation, who introduced the huge batch of appointees.

    At the APC NEC assembly, President Buhari additionally hinted he would increase his cupboard by appointing extra ministers.

    The newest appointments, the most important President Buhari ever made since 2015, noticed Mallam Wada Maida, a former editor-in-chief and managing director of The News Agency of Nigeria, returning as its chairman. Appointed as one of many board members is Mr. Isa Abba Adamu.

    Maida, a former press secretary to Buhari when he was Nigeria’s navy ruler between 1984 and 1985, is at current the Chairman board of administrators of Peoples Media Limited. He retired from the company in 2003. He was the company’s managing director from 1994, after a protracted spell as editor-in-chief, from 1985. He joined NAN as a pioneer editorial employees in 1978 and was at numerous occasions, the political editor and London Bureau Chief.

    In different appointments, rolled out by Boss Mustapha, Mr. Dapo Abiodun, Chairman of Heyden Petroleum, who contested for the senatorial seat of Ogun East within the 2015 election was named as the brand new chairman of Corporate Affairs Commission.

    Many huge wigs of the APC had been equally appointed.

    The social gathering’s authorized adviser, Muiz Banire is now the chairman of the Asset Management Company of Nigeria(AMCON). Senator Olorunimbe Mamora is the chairman of Abuja Investment and Infrastructure Centre.

    The social gathering’s secretary, Mai Mala Buni, is the chairman of the Shippers Council. Malam Bolaji Abdullahi, the publicity secretary of the social gathering is in command of the National Sugar Development Council(NSDC).

    Demola Seriki, a former minister of state for defence is the chairman of the National Maritime Academy of Nigeria in Oron. Former Speaker House of Representatives, Patricia Olubunmi Etteh is the brand new chairman of the National Hospital, Abuja. A former deputy speaker, Chibudom Nwuche is in command of Federal Medical Centre Lokoja.

    Dr. Leke Pitan, a former commissioner for well being in Lagos, beneath Asiwaju Bola Tinubu was appointed chairman of National Agricultural Extension Research Liaison Services in Zaria. Teju Philips, additionally a former Lagos commissioner is the chairman of Federal College of Agriculture, Ibadan. Pastor Yomi Kasali will head the Nigerian Christian Pilgrims Commission.

    Chief George Moghalu is the chairman of the Nigerian Communications Satellite(NIGCOMSAT). General John Shagaya is the chairman of National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies, Kuru Jos.

    Former governors of Ekiti state, Otunba Niyi Adebayo and Engineer Segun Oni had been additionally named as chairmen. Adebayo is in command of Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria(FAAN). Oni who’s a vice-chairman of the APC has been posted to Nigerian Export Processing Zone. whereas Senator Ayo Arise, a latest kidnap sufferer will chair Sheda Science and Technology Complex.

    Former deputy governor of Plateau state, Pauline Tallen is the brand new chairman of National Agency for the Control of HIV/AIDS(NACA).

    Former deputy governor of Ondo state, Alhaji Ali Olanusi, will chair the Benin-Owena River Basin Development Authority, whereas a former deputy governor of Lagos, Femi Pedro is the chairman of Small and Medium Enterprise Development Agency of Nigeria.

    Timi Alaibe, former Managing director of the Niger Delta Development Commission, is heading to Oil and Gas Free Zone Authority as chairman.

    Read the entire checklist right here:Board Chairmen and members

    According to Boss Mustapha, all of the appointments take speedy impact.

    The ministers beneath whom the businesses fall, have been requested to represent the boards instantly.

    Said Mustapha: ” Mr. President thought-about the approval for the structure of the Boards in addition to the appointments, very needed, in order to offer a correct Governance and oversight construction for Government Agencies and Parastatals.

    “The constitution of the boards with the appointments, is a demonstration of this Government’s efforts aimed at building strong institutions of Governance, and by extension, improving the quality of Policy formulation and supervision”, he added.