Salah, Oshoala topped African gamers of the 12 months



Mohamed Salah: topped Africa’s greatest participant for 2017

Liverpool and Egyptian playmaker Mohamed Salah etched his title into soccer historical past after being topped African Player of the Year 2017.

In the feminine class, Nigerian Asisat Oshoala, who now performs for the Chinese facet Dalian Quanjian F.C. was topped Africa’s greatest.

Salah fended off opposition from club-mate Sadio Mane of Senegal and Gabonese Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, winner in 2015, to select the topmost prize on the Aiteo CAF Awards Gala 2017, held on Thursday, four January 2018, on the International Conference Centre in Accra, Ghana.

He thus grew to become the primary Egyptian to win essentially the most prestigious particular person honour in African soccer.

He polled 625 factors, in opposition to 507 from Mane while Aubameyang completed a distant third with 311 factors.

The feat capped an excellent 12 months for the ahead who performed an influential function for each membership and nation through the 12 months below evaluate.

Salah’s feat was the climax of a memorable night for Egyptian soccer which noticed the Pharaohs being named National Team of the Year and Argentina-born coach, Hector Cuper, Coach of the Year.

Nigerian Asisat Oshoala was adjudged Women’s Player of the Year for the third time, after 2014 and 2016. She beat Cameroonian Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene and Chrestina Kgatlana of South Africa to the highest prize.

However, Kgatlana took comfort in Banyana Banyana being named Women’s National Team of the Year.

Patson Daka ensured Zambia was represented on the rostrum with the Youth Player of the Year, ten years after compatriot Clifford Mulenga was embellished Most Promising Talent of the Year.

African champions, Wydad Athletic Club of Morocco deservingly went dwelling with the Club of the Year award.

Former Ghana participant Ibrahim Sunday, a member of the Asante Kotoko squad that gained the African Cup of Champions Clubs in 1970 was embellished with the Legend award.

CAF Executive Committee member, Ahmed Yahya, who doubles as president of the Mauritania Football Federation was named Football Leader of the Year.

There have been two Platinum Awards, one to Ghana President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo and world soccer icon, George Weah, now President-elect of Liberia.

The ceremony which was beamed stay to hundreds of thousands internationally had Ghana President Akufo-Addo, Fatma Samoura – FIFA General Secretary amongst some excessive profile attendees.

There have been additionally musical performances from Toofan from Togo, DR Congo’s Fally Ipupa, Ghanaian duo, Shatta Wale and Kidi, and Nigerian septet of Patoranking, Wizkid, Tiwa Savage, Runtown, Olamide, Phyno and Flavour.


African Player of the Year
Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)

Youth Player of the Year

Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)

Coach of the Year

Hector Cuper (Egypt)

Club of the Year

Wydad Athletic Club

National Team of the Year


Women’s National Team of the Year

South Africa


Ibrahim Sunday (Ghana)

Platinum Award

Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo – President of Ghana
George Weah – President-elect of Liberia & former World, Africa and European Player of the Year

Fans’ Finest XI

Goalkeeper: Aymen Mathlouthi (Tunisia & Etoile du Sahel)
Defenders: Ahmed Fathi (Egypt & Al Ahly), Eric Bailly (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United), Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)
Midfielders: Mohamed Ounnajem (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club), Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco & Feyenoord), Junior Ajayi (Nigeria & Al Ahly), Achraf Bencharki (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
Forwards: Khalid Boutaib (Morocco & Yeni Malatyaspor), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool), Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)

*Reported by CAF Online